Division for the study of Law, Society and Social Justice

The Division for the study of Law, Society and Social Justice (LSSJ) comprises three schools: Kent Law School (KLS); The School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR); and the Centre for Journalism (CfJ), and three research centres: the Centre for Health Service Studies (CHSS), the Personal Social Services Research Unit (PSSRU), and the Tizard Centre.

About us

LSSJ is a large, diverse, multidisciplinary division with a shared ambition to make a difference; we strive to engage critically with social justice practices and projects at home and around the world, to interrogate how we can make society work better for all and to tell powerful stories.  

Our Teaching and research activities are located across two University sites: Canterbury (KLS and SSPSSR), and Medway (SSPSSR and CfJ).

Wigoder Law Building

Wigoder Law Building, Canterbury campus

The Cornwallis Building at Canterbury

Cornwallis Building, Canterbury campus

Get in touch

Prospective applicants

For enquiries about studying our programmes: studylssj@kent.ac.uk

Kent students

Student support and wellbeing 

Employability and placements

Student attainment and student experience

Course administration 


Last updated